Eucatastrophe. Part:8

I was daydreaming of my big break. I’m so happy that I finally got my recommendation. I entered my story just in time and the results are due to come out this week. I really, really hope I win.

Imagine if I win, how much can I do with that amount of money?! I can buy new clothes for each and every individual in the orphanage, I can buy fresh tasty food for the whole year, I can buy a beautiful gift for that sweet Grade: R teacher to repay her for her kindness. I can buy pretty clips for all the girls in the orphanage, I can buy toys for the little children….Oh the possibilities are endless,’ I thought dreamily.

I was startled out of my daydream by the shuffling of people around me. I blinked rapidly trying to get my bearings back and figure out what was going on. I saw Suhail reluctantly walking to the front of the assembly with confused expression on his face. I saw Mr. Moore in front beaming so widely that it looked as if his face would split in two.

The principal shook hands with the two of them before turning to us and saying, “I’m so proud to have someone like Suhail in our midst. Under the guidance of Mr.Moore, Suhail has won the Regional Short Story Competition…”

I zoned out after that. The world began spinning around me. Echoes of Suhail has won the Regional Short Story Competition was all I could hear.  Suddenly everything became too bright as these words continued to echo in my head, Suhail has won the Regional Short Story Competition. 

My dream is shattered. Suhail has won the Regional Short Story Competition, the same competition that I had hoped to win. Suhail has won the Regional Short Story Competition. 

Everything began blurring until all I could see was white. Suhail has won the Regional Short Story Competition. Suhail won the competition I was supposed to win. Not only that but with the story that I was blackmailed into writing for him.

He shattered my dreams with my own story and there was nothing I could do about it. Suhail has won the Regional Short Story Competition…Matron always says “Cheaters will never succeed.” Suhail has won the Regional Short Story Competition.. Have I brought this down on myself? Suhail has won the Regional Short Story Competition. Everything turned from white to black to sweet oblivion.

I didn’t even feel myself fall. I didn’t hear the commotion that followed. I didn’t see who carried me. All I know is when I came to I was completely disorientated. I felt myself being carried but closed my eyes once again dismissing it as a dream. Why on earth would someone carry me? Everyone hates me! ‘It’s definitely a dream!’ I thought, drifting off once again.

I opened my eyes wide before squeezing them shut, thinking that when I opened them again I would be back in the orphanage but it was to no avail. ‘Where am I?’ I thought finally sitting up and looking around me. Walking over to the door way, I peeked out and realised that this was probably the school’s sick room.

“Why am I here?…NO!…NO!…NO!” I began clutching my heart tightly hoping to sooth that ache to no avail. An idea suddenly popped into my head and I began opening all the cupboard rapidly searching for the file that contained all the students details. Yes, there’s it! I flipped through it until I came to grade:10 and there right at the top was what I was looking for.

Name: Abad Suhail

Date of Birth: 19 December 2000

Place of Residence: 7 Red Lotus Avenue

Parent/Guardian’s contact details: ..I put it back quickly as I heard footsteps approaching, and jumped back into bed. Not that it mattered, I’d gotten the info I needed. Suhail Abad was going to get a lovely visit today and he would definitely be getting a piece of my mind.

 

3 thoughts on “Eucatastrophe. Part:8

Leave a Reply

